The Classic Rock Dresser

First of all the credit for this idea originally came from Bliss Ranch and her Rock N Roll dresser I fell in love with quite some time ago.  I also want to point out this dresser was not for resale.

My son needed a dresser and I wanted something that wasn’t little boyish, but also something I wasn’t going to worry about getting tore up.  I found a cheap Ikea dresser that was pretty plain with flat faced drawers.

First I sanded the entire surface with high grit sand paper and used one good coat of shellac based primer.

Plain black Ikea Dresser sanded with high grit sand paper.

Plain black Ikea Dresser sanded with high grit sand paper.

One coat of shellac based primer.

One coat of shellac based primer.

Next I chose 6 images with clean lines and solid colors to use for each drawer front.  Using my Silhouette Cameo, I imported each image into Adobe PS first to clean up any edges and color then used Studio to trace each image and adjust the size to fit each drawer.

Abbey Road and Your Song

Abbey Road and Your Song

Of course Aerosmith

Of course Aerosmith

After all of my stencils were centered and stuck to each drawer front, I painted over each with a light coat of the dresser’s body color General Finishes Millstone.

General Finishes Millstone

General Finishes Millstone

Once that was dry, I started painting each stencil in.  I used a variety of colors and products.

General Finishes Tuscan Red, Lamp Black and Rub N Buff Black

General Finishes Tuscan Red, Lamp Black and Rub N Buff Black

IMG_6002

I removed each of the stencils carefully while the paint was still wet.  I added CeCe Caldwell Shelbyville Graphite Wax around the drawers and edges, used scrap leather for handles, locking casters for feet and sealed the entire dresser with 3 coats of Polyvine Wax Finish.

j burns rock n roll dresser rock n roll dresser j burns beatles rock n roll dresser j burns top

2 thoughts on “The Classic Rock Dresser

Leave a Reply

