Reclaimed Heart Pine Farm Table

Using Unicorn Spit colored gel stains to recreate a salvaged wood finish

IMG_20160821_141739

Working with reclaimed materials

*This post is sponsored by Unicorn SPiT, but all statements and opinions are mine.

This entire process of recreating the color start to finish is 100% VOC-FREE, Non-toxic and uses naturally safe products.

My brother and his fiance just bought their first home and I needed not only a house warming gift, but also a wedding gift. They both wanted a new table that would fit everyone around it and a farm house style.  We decided on salvaged heart pine from old railway cars and turned legs, then I got to work building.

When using reclaimed or salvaged materials make sure you’re using items that do not have a risk for lead, asbestos or other hazardous materials. Test kits can be picked up at your local hardware store.

20160808_170139

Because most of the lumber I was using came from old railway cars, most was very uneven/warped and needed to be planed down to a level surface. By planing and sanding, much of the original patina was removed.

I needed to recreate the original color of the wood and match what patina was left.

20160816_195144-1_wm

Recreating old patina

To recreate the original color/patina of the salvaged wood I grabbed my set of Unicorn Spit colored gels stains.

14095880_1256619434382318_8269412115153286357_n

I started with Midnight Blackness and using it diluted with 50% water, I used a chip brush over all the dents and dings of the table. Then wiped off the excess with a rag.

You can see it left the color down in the imperfections perfectly.

20160817_135948

Then using one part Rustic Reality, one part Squirrel and one part Lemon Kiss I mixed all together then diluted with 50% water.

20160817_141829

While I was staining away with that mix, I blended in a few spots of straight Lemon Kiss here and there to add dimension and color variations.

20160817_142057

I kept a spray bottle of water close to use while blending the colors.

Once I had the entire surfaced stained and blended, I brush on some Midnight Blackness in random spots. I used the spray bottle again as I went to gently help the brush blend the colors.

20160817_150041

After going over any spots that needed touch up, I let the table dry for about an hour.

Once the table was dry I used Pure Tung Oil in a soaking application with 12 hours in between each application wiping off any excess after the wood stayed wet for 60 minutes.

20160817_192746

Make sure when using pure tung or hemp oils you’re saturating the entire surface, looking for dry spots every 15-20 minutes until the entire surface remains wet for 60 minutes.

20160817_192812

Once the oil was allowed to dry for a full day, I used Cece Caldwell Paints in Beckley Coal on the legs. Then finished them up with Daddy Van’s wax in Shadow Black.

Here it is finished.

2 thoughts on “Reclaimed Heart Pine Farm Table

  1. hiddencharm1007 says:

    As always your talent is astounding, Jen!! Bravo!! This table turned out beautifully and I love how you used Unicorn Spit to get a gorgeous patina. Well done!
    Now… where is my Spit Painting of Dave Grohl and young David Gilmore? I’m waiting…. 🙄

    Like

Leave a Reply

