DIY Wood Barn Quilt

**This post is sponsored by Old Fashioned Milk Paint CO, but all views and opinions are my own.**

Anne from The Old Fashioned Milk Paint sent me a few short cut boards a little while ago and I knew exactly what I wanted to use them for. I had seen Barn Quilts on several different websites and loved the geometric patterns with color.

I started by finding a royalty free pattern online at the Library of Congress under Quilt Blocks.  After finding a hunter’s arrow pattern, I transferred the pattern to my wooden base with a drafting square. 

I then transferred the same pattern to my scrap wood to cut. 

I made sure to label each piece before cutting with the color of The Old Fashioned Milk Paint I would be using. 

After cutting each piece, I sanded and smoothed the edges. 

I painted and stained each piece based on the initial I had used earlier for the colors. 

Then using an 18 gauge finish nailer and 1″ brad nail, I started nailing the pieces to my baseboard according to the pattern. 

Once I had all the pieces nailed in place, I filled any small gaps with putty and sanded smooth.  Then using a drafting T-square, I squared off each edge and trimmed with a circular saw. 

Then I used scrap pieces to frame out the edges and sealed with a few coats of Pure Hemp Oil. 

I did add a picture hook so that it can be hung on the wall.  I love how it turned out. 

Leave a Reply

