Painted Canvas Sneakers – Perfect Christmas Gift for Teens

I’m doing more handmade gifts this season. I have a few teens (and even adults) that these will be awesome for.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
I started with a pair of canvas sneakers from Target.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
I removed the laces and used painter’s tape to protect the soles.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
Then using a fine point sharpie, I drew out the design I wanted.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
Once that was dry I started painting with Unicorn Spit colors, Zia Teal is the gorgeous color for the background.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
I let most of the large areas dry while moving onto the other shoe.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
I used Unicorn SPiT Sparkling Gel stains for the rainbow and horn.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
Then White Ning for the cloud, Lemon Kiss and Phoenix Fire for the stars. I used Unicorn SPiT as paint for these and did not dilute.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
Once they were completely dry I sprayed them with Rustoleum NeverWet for fabric.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
Let them dry at least 24 hours before wearing.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
Once they are dry, the NeverWet seals all the colors and prevents them from running or rubbing off.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
I’m pretty happy with how they turned out and already working on a few more.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o
I did two coats of Rustoleum NeverWet even though it says you only need one.

painted canvas sneakers perfect christmas gift for teens o

Materials I used for this project:

Unicorn SPiT   (http://www.unicornspit.com)

Rustoleum NeverWet   (Home Depot)

Leave a Reply

