DIY Wall Mural With a Homemade Projector

My daughter loves the show Supernatural and asked for a poster of Castiel’s wings. Well I decided to do one better. I’ll just paint them for her.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
I have been doing a lot of artistic painting lately and usually do everything by hand. This project was a little big and I wanted to make sure the dimensions were ok. I don’t have a projector so I built my own for this.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
Using an old box, a good flashlight and some plastic from an old presentation folder, I drew the wings out with sharpie.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
Then cut a hole for the flashlight and improvised to adjust the height.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
Tape your image to a hole cut out of the front of the box and insert the flashlight.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
You’ll need to level and adjust your image with moving the flashlight closer or further away for size.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
It’s hard to see in this photo, but here is the traced image in pencil on the wall.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
I used a fat molotow marker filled with Midnight’s Blackness UnicornSpit to outline the wings.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
Then I hand painted in the rest with Unicorn SPiT.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
I added shading to the wings with Weathered Daydream and White Ning.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
The tie is done with Blue Thunder.
  • diy wall mural with a homemade projector, painting
Once it was dry I touched up the areas I needed to and using a wet rag simply wiped off any drips from the wall. UnicornSpit is water based and as long as I don’t seal this wall it can be washed off when she gets tired of it. You can seal yours with a light spray of clear sealer in the sheen that matches your wall finish.

Material I used for this project:

Leave a Reply

